Galleries more

Videos more

Audio more

Dictionary more

Mauritian Women’s Declaration Against Sex Abuse


Women’s Declaration Against Sex Abuse

50 Mauritian women sign a 100-word Common Declaration Against Sex Abuse.

The Common Declaration Against Sex Abuse represents a shared stand against patriarchy. It comes after 50 years of Independence and in the build-up to International Women’s Day 2018, at the very time when all over the world there are uprisings of women against harassment by predatory men.

The Declaration has been co-ordinated by the Muvman Liberasyon Fam. MLF has included women – from different “currents of thinking” over the decades – who have made, and are making, a contribution to the women’s movement or to women’s emancipation through the contribution they make in their field.

Common Declaration

I, the undersigned, stand with women all over the world who are raising their voices against predatory men, men who use their positions of “relative power” on the worksite – or in other institutions – so as to abuse women. Times are changing. Organizations with a modicum of democracy – including political parties, unions and professional associations – are beginning, everywhere in the world, to hold men accountable, or to revoke them or expel them for abusing women. We, women, worldwide are beginning to raise our voices against sexual and sexist abuse. I for one will no longer collude with this.

Thus, I add my signature, me too.                 

{Deklarasyon Komin

Mwa, ki finn azut mo nom lor sa Deklarasyon la, mo dibut ansam ar fam partu dan lemond ki pe lev lavwa kont zom predater, zom predater ki servi zot pozisyon “puvwar relatif” lor sayt – ubyin dan lezot institisyon – pu abiz fam. Lepok pe sanze. Deza ena lorganizasyon ki demokratik – parti politik, sindika, lasosyasyon profesyonel, parmi – pe kumans, partu dan lemond, sanksyonn zot manb, revok zot, expilse zot, kan zot abiz fam. Nu, fam, partu dan lemond pe kumans lev lavwa kont abi sexyel ek sexist. Mo refiz konplis.

Ala mo siyne, mwa osi.}

Aisha Doba

Allia Syed Hossen-Gooljar

Ambal Jeanne

Ananda Devi

Anjani Murdan

Anne-Lise Mestry

Anne-Marie Joly

Anooradah Pooran

Anushka Virahsawmy

Aurore Perraud

Begum Badullah

Daniella Bastien

Danielle Turner

Djemillah Mourade

Francoise Labelle

Francoise Lamusse

Gaëlle Tossé

Husna Ramjanally

Julia Maigrot

Kisna Kistnasamy

Kumari Issur

Laure Soobrayen

Lindsey Collen

Linzi Bacbotte

Manda Boolell

Marie Claire Bibi Diop

Marie-France Favory

Marie-Noelle Elissac-Foy

Marlène Urcile Ladine

Marousia Bouvery

Mary Jane Gaspard

Maya Hanoomanjee

Mélanie Vigier de Latour-Bérenger

Merline Francois

Micheline Virahsawmy

Mohni Bali

Monique Descombes

Munavvar Namdarkhan

Myriam Narainsamy

Patricia Day-Hookoomsing

Pramila Patten

Pushpa Lallah

Rajni Lallah

Ranjita Bunwaree

Sadna Jumnoodoo

Sandra O’Reilly

Sarah-Jane Vingta

Sheela Baguant

Sheila Bappoo

Sheila Bunwaree

Veronique Topize

Vidula Nababsing

Circulated by the MLF, 27 February, 2018