Galleries more

Videos more

Dictionary more

ANNOUNCEMENT: Launching of Mauritians in Solidarity with the People of Palestine common front.



New Common Front Formed in Mauritius: 

“Mauritians in Solidarity with the People of Palestine, 

No to Israeli Apartheid!”

At this year’s end, we are pleased to announce that 10 organizations and 42 individuals have come together to launch a new common front. It is called Mauritians in Solidarity with the People of Palestine: No to Israeli Apartheid! ((SOMALP) An updated founder members’ list below, as of 30 December, 2020.

SOMALP is being born in a new context for the people of Palestine. President Donald Trump of the USA has made common cause with Prince Mohammed Bin Salman of Saudi Arabia Prime Minister Netanyahu of Israel – with the aim of, at one and the same time, dominating the people of Palestine and “normalizing” Israel’s relations with the Arab world, that is to say with traditional “allies” of the Palestinians.  

Strangely, it is also a time of hope. The Boycott, Disinvestment, Sanctions (BDS) world-wide movement has isolated Israel, and will continue to do so as long as Israel occupies Palestine illegally. In the USA, Israel’s main ally, a great deal of support for the Palestinian people has begun to be expressed, and for the first time, big organizations of Jewish people are opposing the Israeli aggression and expansion.  

And in this context of both new challenges and new hopes, all over the world a new counter-offensive is taking the form of a struggle to get the Israeli state declared an “Apartheid State” – Apartheid having, since 1966, been declared a crime against humanity by the United Nations. It is in this context that our new common front, SOMALP, is being born in Mauritius. 

It was in this new context that on Saturday 28 November SOMALP’s birth was planned. A resolution was taken at a gathering, at which there were talks on the new situation, and then a candlelight vigil on the Royal Road in Grand River North West in Port Louis. It was also resolved that the previous BDS committee will now be “subsumed” into SOMALP.  

List of Founder Organizations

Confederation of General Trade unions (Vinod Seegum)                      

Confederation des Travailleurs des Secteurs Publique et Privé (Reeaz Chuttoo)

Mauritius Labour Congress (Haniff Peerun)

All Workers’ Federation (Haniff Peerun)        

Federation of Parastatal Bodies and Other union (Deepak Benydin)

Dr. Idrice Goomany Treatment Centre (Samad Abdus Dulloo)           

Consumer Advocacy Platform (Mosadeq Sahebdin)

Chagos Refugees Group (Olivier Bancoult)

Muvman Liberasyon Fam (Ragini Kistnasamy)

LALIT (Alain Ah Vee)

List of individual Founder Members 

Cassam Uteem, Former President of the Republic of Mauritius

Rama Poonoosamy, Former Minister of Arts and Culture

Vinesh Hookoomsing, Former Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Mauritius

Jean-Claude Bibi, Former Attorney General


Ragini Kistnasamy

Firoza Dilmohamed 

Kavi Pyneeandy

Gopalen Chellapermal

Clement Bordelais

Rehza Khan 

Norman Tambanivoul

Khalid Gareebun

Alain Fanchon

Marie Ange Fanchon

Gary Homet

Rajendra Ramen

Amyot Perrine

Danny Le Merle 

Ahmad Tallybally

Rada Kistnasamy

Rajni Lallah

Imran Dhanoo

Alain Ah Vee 

Sudha Ramen 

Francis Jolicoeur

Laval Yves

Christian Batour

Rashid Denmanode

Audrey Noel

Anouchka Cindy Clelie 

Anne-Marie Joly 

Sultana Begum Budulla 

Anne-Marie Hypolite

Abdool Nabee

Akshay Seepargauth

Pushpa Lallah 

Georges Herchenroder 

Nuhaa Tallybally

Nabiilah Tallybally

Lindsey Collen

Ram Seegobin

Roland Fozoo


updated on 30 Dec 2020 at 7:37 pm